LET’S FILE THIS UNDER “Maybe a STEP IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION” … 

Before we get to their announcement about vegan ice cream, let’s look at the ingredients that are now in Ben & Jerry’s ice cream that were not there before the company was sold to corporate glom Unilever. The new ingredients are in bold: Cream, Skim Milk, Liquid Sugar, Water, Cherries, Egg Yolks, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Coconut Oil, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Cocoa (Processed With Alkali), Cocoa, Natural Flavors, Concentrated Lemon Juice, Caramel And Red Cabbage Juice Extract (For Color), Guar Gum, Milkfat, Soya Lecithin, Carrageenan.

Okay, Ben & Jerry’s is releasing a vegan ice cream next spring. They’re saying they plan to use either coconut milk or almond milk as as base.

Co-founder Jerry Greenfield was quoted recently, “In the US there are [dairy-free] alternatives from smaller companies but Ben & Jerry’s will be the first mainstream company that will do that and will also do it in a really delicious way.” The company was apparently chided to create a vegan ice cream after a petition asking the company to serve the vegan community received 27,000 signatures.

Comments

comments


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


− two = 2

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>